Bluebirds

9906bluebirdsfb

I’ve always loved Bluebirds.  But I never really saw them.  I can remember once, many years ago, seeing one in my yard for a brief visit, but that was it.  A couple of years ago, I started frequenting a nearby metropark and met some fellow birders. They gave me a heads-up as to where the Bluebirds hung out and, sure enough, I started seeing them regularly.  I mentioned that I never saw them in my yard and one man suggested a heated birdbath.  So that was the top item on my Christmas list this year and I set up the birdbath soon after the new year.

0132bluebirdfb

Sure enough, the Bluebirds started coming.  They don’t stay long, just fly in for a quick drink and, once in a while a bath, and then leave.  Most surprising to me was that three or four would come at one time.  I went from never seeing a Bluebird to seeing them a few times a week.  They are truly beautiful–the color, especially on the males, is fantastically bright.

  8667bluebirdfb

I’d love to do more to keep them attracted to my yard.  I started putting out dried mealworms, but so far only the Carolina Wrens have been eating them.  And I considered a Bluebird house, but my yard doesn’t really seem great for them to nest in.  It seems they like their nest located in a more open area–like a meadow–and we don’t have much open space in our wooded yard.  I do have plans to put up a nest box this spring, but I’d be surprised if the Bluebirds chose it for their own.

This entry was posted in Thrushes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bluebirds

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Wonderful photos of bluebirds. If you have some open space nearby, they might like your bird house. The nature center in my area has some houses on the edge of the trees.

  2. Thank you for commenting, Crooked Tracks! I’ve seen Bluebird houses on the edge of woods also. I’m mostly worried about the neighborhood cats. There are not too many around, so we’ll see what happens!

  3. Hey, Cuz – Soooo glad you got a heated bird bath! We’ve had ones for over 15 years now (mounted on our deck rail and purchased from Duncraft) and the number of “visible” birds has increased annually. Plenty of Bluebirds in our area but, unfortunately, they’re too slow when it comes to the ‘housing market’. The Black Capped Chickadees always seem to claim the box first. In our neck of the woods, cats aren’t the problem. Snakes are – sigh.

    • I’m having trouble with my heated birdbath right now–it keeps tripping the GFI and turning off. I’m not sure what the problem is. But my bluebirds haven’t been back in a few days 😦

Leave a Reply

