Pining for flowers

0204rosefb

It’s been a long, cold, snowy winter.  As I’m writing this, it is snowing again, which really comes as no surprise anymore.  I like the snow, it really is beautiful, but the cold this year has been particularly brutal.  Wind chills of 20 below have been common (that’s crazy talk!) and the kids have missed more days of school because of the cold than because of the snow.  I try really hard to get out during the winter, at least to take a walk through the woods once in a while, but I haven’t gotten out much at all lately and I’m starting to go stir crazy.  This is when I start to think about flowers–I haven’t seen them outside in so long and that is one of the best parts of spring for me!

3179tuliplowres

Tulip

2426grapehyacinth2fb

Grape Hyacinth

3257irisfb

Iris

1876daffodilsfb

Daffodil

So I find myself looking at pictures of flowers from past years.  And hoping that my bulbs are doing well under all that snow and cold.  And being so thankful for holidays like Valentine’s Day when I’m lucky enough to receive a huge bunch of roses!

What are your favorite spring flowers?  And do you find yourself looking at pictures of them when spring seems like it will never come?  Please tell me I’m not alone.

All this snow has to melt sometime.  Right?

This entry was posted in Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pining for flowers

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    My tulip garden is under two feet of snow 🙂

Leave a Reply

