Bluebirds and Botanical Gardens

I haven’t taken a walk through the woods in a long time.  Every winter I tell myself I will get out every day.  And I try.  But this winter has been so cold, and the temptation to watch the birds out the window while holding a hot cup of coffee has been too much to resist.  But yesterday I decided to venture out.  It was a little windy, but over 30 degrees, so I figured it wouldn’t be too bad.  Halfway through my walk, I had only seen one bird.  An American Robin was eating berries just off the trail.  I wasn’t able to get any good photos and she finally flew off.  I was pretty resigned that I wouldn’t see much, but at least I was getting a little exercise.

I reached the field where the Indigo Buntings nest every summer.  Suddenly, I saw a male Bluebird.  The colors on this little bird are so bright that they are unmistakable, even from a distance.  As I got closer, the male flew away, but I noticed that there were quite a few other Bluebirds around.  I stepped a bit off the trail, into knee-high snow, and hid behind a tree for a few minutes.  Finally, a female got close enough for me to take a few pictures.

0382bluebirdfb

0375bluebirdfb

0366bluebirdfb

I love these birds!  They make my day every time I see them.

In the afternoon, my girls wanted to head to the Botanical Gardens.  They like to visit the conservatory once in a while–feels like a little trip to Florida, but much cheaper!  As I mentioned recently, I’m in serious flower withdrawal, so I was all for it.  Here are a few pictures from the trip.

0391lilyofthevalleyfb

Lily of the Valley. My mom’s favorite flower–it always reminds me of her.

0398flowerfb

0431amaryllisfb

Amaryllis

There’s a little pond in the conservatory with a few fish in it.  Very big fish.  I’ve never really taken a picture of the fish that I love, but I try every time I go.  Yesterday, I snapped this photo:

0426fishfb

I must say, I kind of like it.  It’s not my usual photographic style, but I like how it looks like a painting.  It’s fun to sometimes see a surprise from your camera.

It was a lovely Saturday.  Can’t beat a day full of birds, flowers, and my family!

This entry was posted in Flowers, Thrushes. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Bluebirds and Botanical Gardens

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Bluebirds and flowers, thanks for the lovely images 🙂

  2. John Blair says:

    Great Bluebird shots, Carol! This is a bird I’ve never seen before (but always wanted to!) on my property. The only places I have seen them are the Arb and MSU’s Hidden Lake Gardens, but I’ve never been close enough to get nice photos like yours! Also, I enjoyed your photos from Matthaei. Their Gateway Garden is probably my favorite place in the universe 🙂

  3. John, do you ever go out to Kensington? There is a field there where the Bluebirds hang out. That’s where I first started seeing them regularly.

  4. John Blair says:

    Carol, I haven’t been out to Kensington for many years but I think I’ll visit this summer! It would be great to see the Bluebirds and my older daughter took some wonderful Sandhill Crane photos there last summer.

  5. Yes, you should definitely go. I go a lot in the spring. Let me know if you are going and I can give you the details on where the Bluebirds hang out.

  6. Lily of the valley is my mom’s favorite as well. Just admiring your blog and beautiful pictures after finding you on facebook. I wish I could get pictures like this! I am not that good with my camera. I too enjoy the little details once they are blown up on screen. Thanks for sharing your work!

  7. You’re welcome, homeschooljacob, and thanks for visiting. I hope you come back once in a while. Everyone was not very good with a camera at one time, so I hope you keep trying if it’s something you enjoy. You will get better very quickly!

Leave a Reply

