Recently, outside my window…

0732juncofb

 

Over the last week, my yard has been dominated by Goldfinches, Juncos, Downy and Hairy Woodpeckers, a pair of Northern Flickers, and a pair of Carolina Wrens.

 

0680goldfinchfb_2

 

I was hoping the Northern Flickers were a breeding pair and might nest in a nearby tree.  But then I learned how to tell a male apart from a female, and the pair in my yard are both males.  I have high hopes for the Carolina Wrens, though.  There is one pair that spends the entire day in my yard.  They eat suet, and devour the dried mealworms I put out.  I do have a nesting box in the yard, and am really hoping they choose to nest there.  It’s been up for about a week, and no bird that I have seen has checked it out.  But I have noticed that the Carolina Wrens have been perching close to it, and singing away in their loud voices right outside my window.  So we’ll see.

 

0812carolinawrenfb

 

0833carolinawrenfb

This is the first year I’ve had a nest box up in my yard, and I’m excited to see what will come of it.  I’m so ready for spring to start!

This entry was posted in American Sparrows, Finches, Wrens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recently, outside my window…

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    We still have our winter birds. It is always fun to watch the birds arrive in the Spring 🙂 Judy

  2. You get such nice pictures; they’re so clear. Even on what looks like cloudy days.

    Nesting boxes are fun. We had Kestrels attempt in one box, but it failed. Do not know why, but there was only one cracked egg in it when we looked. The Kestrels hang around though eating rodents and keeping Starlings away. But our Tree Swallow box had a successful brood.

    I will warn you… they bring a lot of stress between keeping guard to make sure House Sparrows do not cause troubles. You worry about severe weather causing the birds to not find the food they need … blow flies, mites and all kinds of other things can cause a nest to fail. Oh and watching the babes leave the nest. It is almost like giving birth, the anticipation, the anxiety and then such joy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

