Golden-Crowned Kinglet

2158goldencrownedkinglet

The Golden-Crowned Kinglet is one bird that I had never really noticed prior to last summer.  In my experience, you really have to look for them to notice them–they are tiny and flit from place to place, seemingly never holding still for a minute.  The photo above was the first one I took of this bird, and it was not easy to get.

Last October, I was walking through the woods when something caught my eye.  This is what I saw:

8921goldencrownedkingletfb

It was pretty shocking.  This poor little Kinglet had her wing caught in some burrs (I believe this is a female, because the male has an orange-and-yellow patch on the crown and the female has an all yellow patch).  The bird was just hanging there, and I was hesitant to grab at her because I was afraid she would start fluttering and hurt herself.  After watching her for a minute, it was pretty clear the bird was not going to get free on her own.  I ended up breaking the little branch she was caught on, without ever touching her, and the bird flew quickly into a low branch nearby.

8946goldencrownedkingletfb

She sat there for a long time cleaning her feathers.  Having spent hours pulling those little burrs out of my own coat, I know how time-consuming it is to get all of them out.  A while later, she looked good to go and I left her.

8939goldencrownedkingletfb

So you never know what you’re going to find when you’re walking around looking for birds to photograph.  I was glad to be able to help this little bird out.

This entry was posted in Kinglets. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Golden-Crowned Kinglet

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    You were lucky to see this experience and happy you were able to help the bird.

  2. Oh, I am so glad you did something to help this bird. 🙂 We had one of these come to our yard last year. It was active but did allow one of the children to get some photos of it. The Ruby-crowned Kinglets are near impossible to get decent pictures of. At least with the camera I have.

  3. Glad you were able to help the kinglet out of a sticky situation. I came across a similar scene a couple of years ago in the fall. At least three victims were involved but I was unfortunately about a month too late judging by the remains.

  4. So sad, Brian. I have to wonder how often these little birds get caught in burrs like this. I was surprised to see it.

Leave a Reply

