Chickadee-dee-dee!

9067chickadeefbI’ve never been very good at identifying birds by their calls.  But I know the Chickadee.  It’s always very helpful when the bird just says it’s name for you!  Here in Michigan, we have the Black-capped Chickadee, and I think they are one of the sweetest little birds.  At a Metropark near us, many of the songbirds will take seed from your hand, and the Chickadees are always game.  Even in areas where they are not accustomed to hand-feeding, they seem very curious and will often come very close.  That makes for a lot of great photographic opportunities.

0571chickadeefbI’ve cited the Cornell Lab of Ornithology All About Birds website before.  One of my favorite parts of this website is the Cool Facts section under the Life History tab–I always find out interesting facts I didn’t know about a bird.  According to this site:

The Black-Capped Chickadee hides seeds and other food items to eat later. Each item is placed in a different spot and the chickadee can remember thousands of hiding places.

That’s pretty impressive, considering I routinely lose my reading glasses.  And how do people know that a Chickadee remembers thousands of hiding places?  Weird.

0569chickadeefb

Whenever I’m frustrated that I haven’t gotten any really great bird close-ups lately, I head out for the Chickadees.  They never disappoint.

This entry was posted in Chickadees and Titmice. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chickadee-dee-dee!

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    Nice photos and very interesting write-up. Thank you for sharing.

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    This is one of my favorite birds because they are so friendly and they stay with us all through the winter 🙂

Leave a Reply

