A Day Outside

 

On these beautiful spring days like we had yesterday, all I want to do it be outside.  I had some mom-related work to do yesterday, but every chance I got I grabbed my camera and headed out.  The first bird of the day was this Blue Jay in my yard.  I absolutely adore the color of blue on this bird.

4608bluejayfb

I walked through the woods a few times yesterday, but didn’t see many birds.  I did see a White-throated Sparrow and a male Eastern Bluebird, both of which were too fast for me to photograph.  I was pleased that I could identify the sparrow without reviewing a photo–that ornithology class is paying off!

There is never a shortage of squirrels to photograph.  This is one of the regulars in my yard:

4612squirrelfb

And this little grey squirrel was making a huge racket in the woods:

4681squirrelfb

I saw some flowering pussy willow yesterday.  Near one tiny bit of water, there were three little stalks.  A couple of birds were feeding on it, but they flew away as I got closer and I never identified them.

4714pussywillowfb

Later, I came upon a much larger pussy willow plant.  Here, a Black-Capped Chickadee and American Goldfinch were happily feeding.  I think, from a quick bit of research on the web, that they were actually eating insects around the pussy willow and not the flower itself.  It also seems that Goldfinches often nest in pussy willows.

4669goldfinchfb

Just before I headed inside for the evening, a Turkey Vulture soared right over my head.  I know they have a bad reputation for being a little freaky looking (that head!), but I still think they are incredibly beautiful.

4727turkeyvulturefb

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey, Finches, Flowers, Jays, Squirrels. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Day Outside

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    We have a pair of robins hanging around the yard now, it is fun to watch them 🙂

  2. I love the Blue Jay – the shade of blue is very pretty. We don’t see them here.

Leave a Reply

