The Excitement of Spring

It’s hard to get anything done these days.  Every day there is more and more going on outside–birds returning, nests being made, flowers blooming–I just want to see it all.  I only had about an hour yesterday to get out.  It was chilly, and windy, but I did find a little path where there was a lot of activity.  I watched this Yellow-rumped Warbler for a long time.

5284yellowrumpedwarblerfb

5281yellowrumpedwarblerfb

Such a pretty bird, and I can’t look at one anymore without hearing the leader of my ornithology class pointing out the headlight, sidelights, and taillights on this bird!

5314bluegraygnatcatcherfb

There were also a few Blue-gray Gnatcatchers around.  These are relatively new birds to me–I noticed them last summer for the first time.  They jump around a lot, and are not easy to photograph, but they are adorable little birds!

I was standing quietly in one spot for about a half hour watching these little birds.  Suddenly, I noticed a Blue Jay nearby.  He was hiding in some brush and I couldn’t get a clear look.  Then he landed just a few feet from me and fed a female Blue Jay sitting on a nest.  She was right next to me the whole time and I never noticed her!  I’m not one to hover around a nesting bird and I felt pretty bad I had been standing there so long.  So off I went.  I know that path in the park gets a lot of use, and it always surprises me when birds will nest right in the open like that.

5329bluejayfb

Hope you are also enjoying all the wonders of spring!

This entry was posted in Gnatcatchers, Jays, Wood-warblers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Excitement of Spring

  1. Kenn Shapiro says:

    Wow—brilliant captures, Carol. The Blue Jay is priceless!

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    I have never seen a blue jay on the nest, that is really a special photo.

  3. Thank you. That’s a first for me too.

  4. becky says:

    Love your pics Carol. Glad I found them via fb Birding MI. flickr too!

  5. Thank you Becky. So glad you stopped by!

Leave a Reply

