Therapy Walk

5972rubycrownedkingletfb

 

It was a long day yesterday with kids’ activities.  The weather was lousy–windy, cold, and rainy–and I ended up being outside for many freezing hours at a sports event.  The event was finally cancelled  in the afternoon and I made it home before dinner.  All I wanted to do was take a quick walk in the woods to relax after the crazy day.  The sun has finally come out.  I saw this adorable Ruby-crowned Kinglet and watched him for a long time.  I never got a picture with the ruby crown showing, but I love the subtle patterns on these birds.

 

5970rubycrownedkingletfb

 

It felt so good to be in the sunshine.  The bright, warm light on these new spring leaves caught my attention.  So very pretty.

 

5978leavesfb

 

Back home, and feeling much better, I checked in on the mama robin on our porch.  She now has 4 eggs and is sitting on the nest all the time.  She is very tolerant of us watching her from the sidewalk, but we can’t get much closer without her leaving the nest.  I finally have the rest of my family trained to stay away from the porch, and I’m looking forward to babies in about 2 weeks!

 

6022robinfb

This entry was posted in Kinglets, Thrushes. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Therapy Walk

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Wow, that’s a great robin nest 🙂

  2. I am glad you have a safe place for these birds to nest. We have several nesting pairs and one is already sitting on her eggs. We’ve been having a time keeping the grackles away as they will terrorize any nesting bird to take over that tree. Today, a Mama took one of our duck’s feathers for her nest. Never saw that before. Usually just Swallows and those icky HOSP take feathers.

    We’ve had Barn Swallows nest on our porch and that was a fun experience.

  3. I can only remember one other time when a bird nested so close to our house. It is a real treat to be able to watch! So far, no other birds have been causing any trouble.

Leave a Reply

