Spring is exhausting!

6704floweringtreefb

The trees, the flowers, the birds–all I want to do is be outside photographing it all.  Of course, my children have other ideas of what they would like to be doing, so it has been tough getting out there.  But when I do, it seems like so much is going on.  I stood by the flowering tree above for a long time hoping a very colorful warbler would land on it.  No such luck, but the colors of the blooms against the green background are so beautiful.  As I was standing there, some Canada Geese caught my attention and I snapped a quick photo.

 

6712canadagoosefb

There is so much about this shot that could be technically better, but I love the feel of it.

 

6723robinfb

 

This American Robin was busy gathering nesting material.  The robin on our porch continues to sit on her four eggs.  They should be hatching any day now.

I saw a few more new-to-me birds on this outing.  First, I caught a glimpse of this Wilson’s Warbler.

 

6732wilsonswarblerfb

 

Then I barely was able to get a picture of this bird:

 

6781unidfb

 

It was pretty obvious to me that it was a flycatcher of some kind.  I was thinking it might be an Acadian Flycatcher, but the Acadian should have longer wingtips, and these don’t look very long.  I then considered a Least Flycatcher, but thought the bill might be a little long.  Wiser birders than I have said it is a Least Flycatcher, and that’s a first for me.

 

6853blueheadedvireofb

 

In the evening, I was walking around my yard and was surprised to see this Blue-headed Vireo.  I haven’t photographed one before, but I was sure about the id based on those white spectacles.  Such a beautiful bird!  At the same time, a Chestnut-sided Warbler appeared.  I’ve never noticed one in my yard before–so exciting to have new birds around.

 

6798unidfb

This is a horrible photo, but I caught the Broad-winged Hawk that is nesting in our woods flying by with a snake.  He/She landed quite a bit away from me to have his/her dinner.  I am so glad this hawk is back!

Now I have to resist the temptation to go look for more birds and clean my house.  Yippee.

 

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey, Flowers, Flycatchers, Thrushes, Vireo, Waterfowl, Wood-warblers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring is exhausting!

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I love the photo of the robin, ready to build a nest, it is perfect for this time of year 🙂

Leave a Reply

