Back to the Birds

The past week has been filled with activity–but very little of it was bird related.  I had to travel out of town last weekend for a high school regatta.  Just before I left, I saw the first hummingbird of the year at our feeder.  We regularly have Ruby-throated Hummingbirds at our feeder during the warmer months.  It seems like mostly females visit our feeder, but the first of this year was a male with that beautiful ruby throat.  It’s my goal to get a fantastic photo of a hummingbird this summer now that I have the lens to do it.  This photo wasn’t the one, but I’ll have plenty more opportunities in the months to come.

 

6913hummingbirdfb

A male Ruby-throated Hummingbird

 

The weather at the regatta turned out to be horrible on Saturday.  It poured for hours and the site was a sea of mud.  It was at a beautiful location and I had hoped to spend a few hours birding, but it wasn’t in the cards that day.  However, there was a Bald Eagle fishing in the river very close by.  I’ve spotted Bald Eagles in the wild before, but never got to watch them for an extended period of time.  I got a few shots of the eagle flying and fishing.

 

7056eaglefb

Bald Eagle

 

7051eaglefb

Bald Eagle

 

These photos both thrill me and disappoint me.  I’m thrilled because, considering how far away the eagle was, I actually got a few shots where you could see the eye and the fish in his talons.  I’m disappointed because these shots could have been fabulous with different photo equipment.  That’s the problem with this hobby–there’s always better and more expensive equipment out there that will allow you to do things you can’t with what you have.  Since I won’t be upgrading for a long time, I’ll have to just keep waiting for that time when the eagle decides to fly right in front of me!

 

There were many Eastern Kingbirds flying around the regatta site.  It was fun to watch them catching flies in mid air.  When the weather cleared up on Sunday, I was able to get very close to some kingbirds and got a shot I love.

 

7192easternkingbirdfb

Eastern Kingbird

 

After returning home, the rest of the week was filled with storms.  I don’t think I took one walk all week.  I was happy to look outside one day and see Indigo Buntings and Rose-breasted Grosbeaks at my feeder.  On some of the facebook bird groups I’m in, it seems a lot of people are seeing these birds at their feeders lately.  I’m not sure if that’s unusual or not, but I know I’ve never seen an Indigo Bunting at my feeder, and I’ve only seen the Rose-breasted Grosbeak there one other time in the last 18 years.  Both of these birds are stunning, and I wouldn’t mind if it was the new norm to have them around.

 

7309indigobuntingfb

A male Indigo Bunting

 

7339rosebreastedgrosbeakfb

A male Rose-breasted Grosbeak

 

7372rosebreastedgrosbeakfb

A female Rose-breasted Grosbeak

 

This week should be a little less hectic around here, and I’m hoping the weather will greatly improved.  I’m ready to go out and find more birds!

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey, Cardinal, Flycatchers, Hummingbirds. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Back to the Birds

  1. John Blair says:

    Wow – you saw so many beautiful birds, Carol. I have never seen an Indigo Bunting before – such a striking bird. I too saw my first hummingbird of the year this week. It is so nice to have them back after such a long winter. As always, I enjoy your wonderful photos 🙂

    • Thanks John! It was a long time before I saw an Indigo Bunting–but then I stumbled upon an area where they nest and was able to see them a lot. They are stunning birds! And I’m watching my hummingbird right now–we have one that spends the whole day here.

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    Your photos are so wonderful, I also like to watch the eagles but have no great photos of them at this time 🙂

  3. I love seeing all your beautiful birds – and am very envious of them all – especially the hummingbird.

Leave a Reply

