Perfect weekend.

This weekend was perfect.  The weather was fabulous and we spent every minute we could outside.  I went birding and also spent a good deal of time in the garden.  Our yard looks great this time of year–lush and green.  The heat of summer hasn’t taken its toll on the lawn or the plants yet.  It’s all so beautiful.

All those beautiful green leaves are preventing me from seeing many birds.  I was happy to see that the Indigo Buntings have returned to a field near my home.  They tend to be very difficult to photograph–I can hear them and see them, but they stay high up in the treetops.

 

8705indigobuntingfb

A male Indigo Bunting

 

Lots of flowers are blooming now.  We planted our annuals for the summer, and many of our perennials are up and blooming also.  I love irises–I need to plant more because I only have one plant that actually blooms each year.

 

8857irisfb

 

Right now, the woods are filled with a beautiful plant called Dame’s Rocket.  A member of the mustard family, Dame’s Rocket has striking flowers of pinks, purples, and whites on long stems and it looks a lot like phlox–but the flowers have four petals instead of the five found on phlox.  Sadly, this beautiful plant is an invasive species in the United States.  Here is an article which details the issues with this beautiful plant.  And here is a picture I took this weekend of Dame’s Rocket:

 

8906wildgeraniumsfb

 

I hope your weekend was as perfect as mine!

This entry was posted in Buntings, Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perfect weekend.

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    As always, I truly enjoy your photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

