The Peony Garden

One of the highlights of spring around here is when the peony garden at the arboretum is in full bloom.  From the website:

The University of Michigan Nichols Arboretum Peony Garden presents a stunning spring display, with over 270 historic cultivated varieties (cultivars) from the nineteenth and early twentieth century representing the best American, Canadian, and European peonies of the era. These fragrant spring beauties are arranged in 27 beds with each full bed containing 30 peonies. When filled to capacity the garden holds nearly 800 peonies and up to 10,000 flowers at peak bloom.

The University of Michigan Nichols Arboretum Peony Garden presents a stunning spring display, with over 270 historic cultivated varieties (cultivars) from the nineteenth and early twentieth century representing the best American, Canadian, and European peonies of the era. These fragrant spring beauties are arranged in 27 beds with each full bed containing 30 peonies. When filled to capacity the garden holds nearly 800 peonies and up to 10,000 flowers at peak bloom. – See more at: http://mbgna.umich.edu/peony/our-garden#sthash.9kOIFZTm.

I read that peak bloom was expected last weekend, but we were out of town.  No worries, I made it there Monday and the garden was spectacular!  I never get tired of taking pictures of these beautiful flowers.  Here are some of my favorites from my recent visit:

 

9697peonyfb

 

IMG_9693fb

 

9712peonyfb

 

9708peonyfb

 

9701peonyfb

 

9691peonyfb

 

9689peonyfb

 

9687peonyfb

 

9684peonyfb

 

We are so lucky to be able to visit these gardens each spring!

This entry was posted in Flowers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Peony Garden

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I really enjoy visit to arboretums and botanical gardens. Your took some wonderful photos.

  2. Oh no, I forgot about this garden! I only discovered it last year and made my first visit after peak. And now I’ve missed it again. I need to mark my calendar for next year so I can make it a priority to be there on time. Love your photos — I can almost smell them from here.

  3. Would you believe I just dug up our last peony? We’re trying to replace most of our plants with natives, especially our area of Iowa. We’ve been treated to more butterflies around here, so it encourages us to keep at it. Peonies are one of my favorite “aliens” though. We had a beautiful purple one at our last house.

  4. I understand–we’ve been putting a lot of native plants in our yard lately, also. Some of those aliens are beautiful though!

Leave a Reply

