Faraway birds

The woods are so thick with vegetation right now it is nearly impossible to get many close-up photos of birds.  They are there–I can see them hopping around from branch to branch or hear them way up in the canopy.  But having a clear view of them is another matter.  For the past week, I have heard a Red-eyed Vireo singing in the same tree every evening.  He’s right there–I can hear him clear as day–but I have never even seen a glimpse of him.

Any photos I do get are usually of birds very far away.  I’m never as happy with these photos as I am with close-ups.  Focus is a problem, the photos are often very noisy because of low-light, and you just can’t see all the beautiful details of the bird.  On the other hand, it is sometimes nice to have a photo that represents how we actually see birds–as a small part of the habitat that they are in.

Here is a photo of an Indigo Bunting from an evening walk this week.  They usually don’t stay in one place very long, but this guy sat for a while in the same spot and I was able to get a decently-focused picture.

 

0124indigobuntingfb

 

The brilliant blue of these birds almost looks fake.  In the right light, they really stand out against the green backdrop of the woods.  When the light isn’t quite right, they often look black and are easy to miss.

 

0129bluebirdfb

 

This fledgling bluebird was flying around overhead.  I was happy (and lucky!) to get a couple quick shots.

Whenever I get frustrated trying to photograph birds, I always remember my saving grace this time of year–flowers!  They don’t have wings, and it is refreshing to photograph something that won’t take off at any moment.

 

0134rosefb

 

I’m going to keep trying to find that Red-eyed Vireo–I don’t have a decent photograph of one yet.  Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Buntings, Flowers, Thrushes. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Faraway birds

  1. Nice photos Carol! Good luck with the Red-eyed Vireo, I’ve never seen one myself.

  2. Thank you! I’ve only seen this bird once myself–but I know it’s song very well now!

  3. Kelli Bullock says:

    Carol, The bunting is just stunning!! I wish you luck and can hardly wait until your next post!!

    Thanks, KB 🙂

  4. Kenn Shapiro says:

    Three wonderful images, Carol, but the Indigo Bunting amid the greenery is really outstanding. Great capture.

Leave a Reply

