Sneak peak

We spent the last week in Western Kentucky at a beautiful lake home with no internet access.  It was heaven!  I’m putting together a post about all the beautiful birds, butterflies, and flowers we saw.  In the meantime, I wanted to share a picture that I’m so excited about.  It falls into the category of “not great photography–boy, I really should spend more money on new equipment,” but I’m so glad I was able to catch the moment at all.  We were boating on the river and had stopped to explore an area on the bank.  I noticed a hawk fly by with a huge snake dangling from its talons.  It landed in a tree on the other side of the river and I tried my hardest to hold my long lens steady to get a focused shot that far away.

 

1205redtailhawkfb

 

That’s a Red-tailed Hawk with a freshly caught Copperhead snake!  It made my day.

Now back to editing tons of photos from the last week–hope to have a post up in the next day or two.

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sneak peak

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    That is an amazing image 🙂

Leave a Reply

