A fabulous 4th of July weekend.

Nothing like a three day weekend!  We’re getting a thunderstorm right now, but the long weekend was fabulous.  I spent most of the day Friday taking pictures and I have lots to share.

 

1806warblingvireofb

 

These little Warbling Vireos are hard to see up in the leaves.  But their song is very loud and I can sometimes spot them if I look long enough.  Just got a shot of this guy before he hopped onto another branch.

 

1808rwbbfb

1822rwbbfb

 

This female and male Red-winged Blackbird clearly had a nest and/or young nearby.  They were not shy about perching very close to me and letting me know it was time to move on.

 

1830bluegraygnatcatcherfb

1836bluegraygnatcatcherfb

 

This Blue-gray Gnatcatcher looked so pretty sitting next to the river being back-lit by the sun.

 

1848cedarwaxwingfb

 

I love Cedar Waxwings!  I especially love when the catch lights in the eye allow you to see it against that black mask of theirs.

 

1858squirrelfb

 

This little squirrel kept his eye on me the whole time I walked by.

 

1870housewrenfb

1872housewrenfb

 

It was impossible to miss this House Wren who was singing so loudly!  Such adorable little birds.

 

1882housesparrowfb

 

I’m pretty sure this is a House Sparrow.  I can see the gape, so it must be a juvenile.

 

1905woodpeweefb

 

These flycatchers always confuse me.  I’m pretty sure this is an Eastern Wood-Pewee.  I can see those dusky smudges on the under-tail coverts which helped lead me to that conclusion.

 

1968squirrelfb

 

I can’t tell you how many times I hear a bird and start looking for it, only to find it is a chipmunk up in a tree.  I always thought chipmunks stayed on the ground, but not so.  This little guy was playing hide-and-seek.

 

1980butterflyfb

 

Finally, here’s a Great Spangled Fritillary on a Milkweed plant.  This is the most common butterfly I have seen so far this summer.  I have yet to see my first Monarch.  They better hurry up, because the Milkweed is blooming!

 

I hope you all enjoyed the weekend as much as I did.

This entry was posted in Blackbirds, Butterflies, Chipmunks, Flycatchers, Gnatcatchers, Sparrows, Squirrels, Vireo, Waxwings, Wrens. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A fabulous 4th of July weekend.

  1. Such pretty photos, Carol!

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    Wonderful photos. I like the way the squirrel and chipmunk were watching you 🙂

  3. neihtn2012 says:

    You have such good eyes to see so many birds that the rest of us, mere mortals, don’t see. Great photos as a result.

Leave a Reply

