Purple Martins

I went out yesterday morning hoping to get a picture of an Osprey.  There was a nest quite far away–across the waterway–but I was hoping the birds would fly close by and I could get a few shots.  They never flew close enough, so no good shots for me.  On the way home, I stopped by a Purple Martin colony to watch the fledglings for a bit.  After a little while, the father came by with a freshly-caught dragonfly.  He put it into one fledgling’s mouth:

 

2391martinsfb

 

Apparently, it was not easy for the baby to eat the large dragonfly.  The dad took it out of the baby’s mouth:

 

2392martinsfb

 

Then he shoved it in again:

 

2393purplemartinsfb

 

This time, the baby was able to get the dragonfly down.

I was disappointed that I didn’t get any shots of the Osprey, but I love these pictures of the Martins.  It’s so much fun watching all the fledglings around right now.

In my post yesterday, I identified one of the birds as a Black Skimmer.  My apologies for the wrong id–that bird is actually a Forster’s Tern.  And that is why I love connecting with other birders–I learn so much from them.

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Swallows. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Purple Martins

  1. It took me three years to get a decent shot of an Osprey, so don’t feel bad. That’s part of the fun of bird photography. 🙂

    That middle Martin in the second picture is hysterical. I love that pose.

    We enjoy seeing other people’s Martins. We probably have the right habitat, but we decided against starting a colony. I kind of cringe whenever I see something eating the bug-eaters. I had to give one of my ducks a lecture on not eating frogs! I don’t think she listened, though. HA.

  2. What fantastic photos of the martin trying to feed the baby a dragonfly!!

  3. neihtn2012 says:

    Stunning captures!

Leave a Reply

