How fast they grow

The robins on my porch fledged yesterday morning.  When my husband left for work, we found this one fresh out of the nest sitting on the porch.

 

2688robinfb

 

I’m going to take the nest down this time because it is infested with mites.  I’m sure that’s the end of our nesting babies for the year.  Sadly, at least one of the babies was eaten by something after they fledged.  I found the evidence in my front garden 😦  I’m hoping the other two fledglings are fine.

Mom and Dad seemed to celebrate their empty nest with a nice long bath.  I imagine they are both exhausted.  Of course, they have more work ahead feeding the fledglings, again hoping that the others are still around.

 

2707robinfb

 

We visited my father-in-law’s farm yesterday.  The Sweet Peas are blooming and they are beautiful.

 

2718sweetpeafb

 

I keep hoping to see more butterflies, but there just don’t seem to be many around.  I found this Eastern Comma at the farm, and it was kind enough to sit for a minute so I could grab a picture.

 

2733butterflyfb

 

I thought it was going to rain today, but it looks like it may not after all.  Perhaps a walk in the woods is in my future!

 

This entry was posted in Butterflies, Flowers, Thrushes. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How fast they grow

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    Wonderful photos! You are amazing.

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    I like your first photo. That little bird seems a bit unsure about growing up 🙂

  3. I really like these Carol. So sad about the baby.. hopefully the others were able to go somewhere or move! I love your flowers and butterflies as you know. Thanks for a refreshing Wednesday am with my coffee!

Leave a Reply

