Birds, bees, and butterflies

I recently came across a blooming Butterfly Bush.  This plant is so beautiful when it is blooming, and it was attracting all kinds of bees and butterflies.  I did a quick internet search to see if this was a plant I might like to include in my garden.  What I read made me decide not to plant it (see here for one article explaining why).  However, I have visited the plant several times over the last week trying to photograph all the beautiful flying things around it.

 

4068hummingbirdmothfb

 

A couple of Hummingbird Moths were always flitting around the flowers of the Butterfly Bush.  They are small, and quick moving, and very difficult to photograph.  They are also one of my favorites.  The picture above shows the back and beautiful wings of the moth. I tried desperately to get a picture from the side showing the eye, but they are really quick and the light wasn’t very good.  Below is a picture I took last summer of another Hummingbird Moth showing the side view.

 

8310hummingbirdmothfb

 

All kinds of bees were visiting the flowers also.  I love this little guy below, and the colors in the photo can’t be beat.

 

4493beefb

 

A beautiful Giant Swallowtail came by while I was standing there.  It didn’t stay for long, so I was happy to get a quick shot.

 

4455giantswallowtailbutterflyfb

 

I’ve been really missing photographing birds lately.  I haven’t had a lot of time to go out looking for them.  But migration is starting, and the kids will go back to school soon, so I’m looking forward to seeing a greater variety over the next month or so.  In the meantime, I did catch a glimpse of this Cedar Waxwing.

 

4193cedarwaxwingfb

 

And I was able to catch this beautiful Red-Tailed Hawk in flight.

 

4394redtailhawkfb

 

I hope you are all enjoying your weekend.

 

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey, Butterflies, Insects, Waxwings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birds, bees, and butterflies

  1. Kelli Bullock says:

    Of course a fantastic way to spend my remainder of the weekend. Beautiful Carol.. the colors are just breathtaking. Thanks!!

  2. Thank you for posting that link. Your pictures are beautiful. I have yet to see a hummingbird moth.

    You know we’ve been adding natives to our yard, but this post encouraged me to go a little further. I am planning on digging up the “alien” clematis and will replace them this fall with a native version. It’s nickname is called “Prairie Smoke on a Rope”. They won’t have the bright purple flowers, but should do a good job of providing food for our bugs. Nothing, not even pollinators ever make use of them.

    • We just had our yard completely re-landscaped with native plants. We still have some non-natives around, but will be phasing them out. I’ve always loved clematis, but it never did well in my yard. I’ll have to check out the native version.

Leave a Reply

