Just a couple to share

The Goldfinches are everywhere!  We have a large patch of Cut Leaf Coneflower in our garden, and the finches love it.  I was out back one day taking pictures of the finches when I heard one hit my window.  It didn’t hit hard and I was relieved to see it fly immediately up to a branch.  Just as it was landing, a Broad-winged Hawk flew out of the woods, grabbed the finch, and disappeared in a flash.  It happened so fast it took me a minute to believe what I had seen.  I guess a hawk has to eat too, right?

 

4866goldfinchfreqsepfb

 

We also have a few Ruby-throated Hummingbirds that come to the feeder in my yard.  Photographing them is no easy feat, but yesterday I got one I like.

 

4959hummingbirdfb

 

I was hoping to get out and photograph a bit over the long weekend.  There is rain in the forecast, so I’m crossing my fingers that we will see sun at some point.  Have a wonderful weekend!

 

This entry was posted in Finches, Hummingbirds. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a couple to share

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    Superb capture of the hummingbird!

Leave a Reply

