September

4976sunflowersfb

Sunflowers on a windy day.

 

I love September.  The kids are all back in school and I have the house to myself for the first time in a long time.  I do love having the kids home, but boy do I enjoy the quiet when they are in school!  The weather is clearly hinting of fall and I’m looking forward to spending more time outside looking for migrating birds.  I went out last night and saw a warbler, but it was too quick for me to identify it, let alone take a picture.

 

4978grasshopperfb

 

I often stop by a little pond when walking through the woods.  You usually can be certain to find a frog hanging out there, but I haven’t seen many lately.  A few evenings ago there were two–one in the water and one by the edge.  I love the eyes on this guy.

 

4995frogfb

 

I checked in on the baby Barn Swallows at the farm.  They were still there and look about ready to fledge.  There are a few holes in the mud nest–you can’t tell from the picture, but one of them is quite large.  I hope a baby doesn’t fall out before he’s ready.

 

5022barnswallowsfb

 

I also watched a beautiful Monarch in a huge field of Goldenrod.  The colors were amazing.

 

5062monarchfb

 

We have a little birdhouse hanging on the trunk of a tree in our yard.  It’s been there for years and no one has ever nested in it.  Yesterday, I could see some nesting material in it and climbed near to take a peek.  A tiny face poked out and scared me half to death.  I think it’s probably a red squirrel, but am wondering if it could be a chipmunk.  I don’t know if chipmunks will nest in boxes off the ground, but the box is so small I don’t even know if a red squirrel could fit in it.  I’ve been watching the box but haven’t seen the critter come out at all.

I wouldn’t mind baby squirrels in the yard!

 

 

This entry was posted in Butterflies, Flowers, Frogs, Insects, Swallows. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to September

  1. neihtn2012 says:

    I like all of the photos!

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    Maybe the squirrel or chipmunk went into the box to look for food 🙂

  3. Kenn Shapiro says:

    Such beautiful images, Carol–masterfully captured!

  4. v4vikey says:

    Wow great shot! Love the colours.

Leave a Reply

