Fall Migration

I love migration time!  The birds are active, I often see ones I’ve never seen before, and I get to practice my id skills.  Fall migration is a bit more challenging than in the spring–the leaves are still on the trees and the birds like to stay up in the canopy a lot, the birds are not in their breeding plumage, and there are a lot of young birds which makes identifying them more challenging.

We do have Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in our yard all summer, but they seem to be eating constantly now in preparation for their migration.  I see females much more often than males, but one day this male was at our feeder constantly.

 

5253hummingbirdfb

 

I love Warblers–I think they have become my favorite type of bird along with the raptors.  They hop around constantly, and are not easy to photograph, so it’s really exciting when I catch one.  I was thrilled to get a shot of this Black-and-White Warbler:

 

5192blackandwhitewarblerfb

 

I’ve seen a ton of American Redstarts lately, and have a ton of blurry pictures of these hyper birds to prove it.  I got lucky and had one land very close to me and sit still for just a few moments:

 

5632americanredstartfb

 

The next Warbler I saw I ended up following around for quite a while.  It kept hopping from branch to branch, and tree to tree, and I could get a few shots but couldn’t quite tell what it was.  When I looked at the picture later and consulted my Sibley’s, I guessed that it was a Black-throated Green Warbler.  I confirmed this with some other birders.  Here’s the picture:

 

5532blackthroatedgreenwarblerfb

 

The next Warbler I saw turned out not to be a Warbler at all:

 

5585yellowthroatedvireofb

 

I originally thought this was a Pine Warbler because of the yellow spectacles and the white wing bars.  As soon as someone pointed out that the bill looked hooked, I headed to the Vireo section of my field guide.  In fact, this is a Yellow-throated Vireo.  This was a first for me.

Speaking of Vireos, I also got a shot of this Red-eyed Vireo.  I love these birds.

 

5605juvenileredeyedvireofb

 

Here’s a picture of an Eastern Wood-Pewee.  These birds are actually around all summer, but I’ve been seeing them much more often in the woods.

 

5142easternwoodpeweefb

 

And lastly, just wanted to share a picture of a female Mallard stretching her wings:

 

5173mallard_2fb

 

It’s truly starting to feel like fall and I do love it.  Hopefully I’ll have a lot more photos to share soon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Ducks, Flycatchers, Hummingbirds, Vireo, Wood-warblers. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Migration

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I just saw a hummingbird yesterday and I though it better get going south because the next few nights will be cold 🙂

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    I just saw a hummingbird yesterday and I though it better get going south because the next few nights will be cold 🙂

Leave a Reply

