The chilly days have begun

Seems like fall has arrived.  I don’t mind the cooler weather, but I wish the sun had been out a bit more this week.  It’s so hard to photograph in the woods when it’s not bright and sunny.  I tried my best though, because you know how much I love the Warblers, and they are out there right now.  I was able to get a shot of this beautiful Chestnut-sided Warbler.  I saw one of these warblers for the first time last spring.  That one was much easier to identify as it had the chestnut-colored side.

 

5657chestnutsidedwarblerfb

 

This next picture is of an Eastern Wood-Pewee.  These flycatchers are in our woods all summer, but lately I seem to be seeing more of them.

 

5675easternwoodpeweefb

 

I’ve been having fun trying to get some shots of the Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in my yard.  Our yard is very shaded, so it’s often tough.  And these birds rarely perch within sight.  But this pretty female sat for a long time right outside my window one afternoon.

 

5885rubythroatedhummingbirdfb

 

Yesterday, I was so excited to photograph a new-to-me bird!  This is an Ovenbird–a type of wood-warbler.  I saw it and got 4 quick shots off.  So glad I caught a picture of this little bird that struts around on the forest floor like a chicken.

 

5899ovenbirdfb

 

 

I was wondering where this warbler got it’s name, so I looked it up on the Cornell Lab of Ornithology All About Birds website.  From there:  “Its nest, a leaf-covered dome resembling an old-fashioned outdoor oven, gives the Ovenbird its name.”

After spending the entire winter in my yard, I have rarely seen a Carolina Wren this summer.  I got a great look at one yesterday when he/she perched in front of me and sang in that very loud voice.

 

5918carolinawrenfb

 

Finally, I’m seeing a lot of little red squirrels in the woods.  Actually, I hear them first because they start screaming at me whenever I come near them.  They run around the trees yelling at me, clearly trying to get me to go away.  Which makes me laugh, because if they didn’t make so much noise, I never would have seen them in the first place.  They are cute though.

 

5957redsquirrelfb

 

Hope you are enjoying the unofficial start of fall as much as I am!

 

This entry was posted in Flycatchers, Hummingbirds, Squirrels, Wood-warblers, Wrens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

