Waiting for some sunshine

I’ve been traveling a bit lately and haven’t had much time for birding.  It’s a bit cloudy this morning, but I’m hoping to get out tomorrow morning for a while.  Here are just a few photos I was able to get in the past week or so.

 

8249cedarwaxwingfb

There have been large flocks of Cedar Waxwings in our woods lately.  I find them difficult to photograph–they are quick and often stay high up in the trees.  I like the photo above because I am able to see the eye in the black mask and also because it shows the bright yellow on the tail and the red on the wings.  They are lovely birds.

 

8306mallardfb

Here is a female Mallard.  She looked so peaceful floating in the shallows under a tree.

 

8538unidfb

Finally, while I was in Boston over the weekend, I caught a quick glimpse of the little bird above.  I needed some help with the id, but this is a Common Yellowthroat–a first for me.

Hope to be back soon with more photos.

This entry was posted in Ducks, Waxwings, Wood-warblers. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Waiting for some sunshine

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    Yes, the waxwings came and went at my place. They are fun to watch 🙂

Leave a Reply

