Lots to share

I’ve been trying to get outside at least an hour a day for the past few weeks.  It’s definitely getting chillier out (although we did have a freaky warm day recently!) and I can hardly believe Halloween is only 2 days away.  Fall migration is winding down and many of the leaves have fallen from the trees.  Here are some pictures from the past week.

 

8643chickadeefb

A Black-capped Chickadee

 

8694woodducksfb

Wood Ducks on a very foggy morning

 

8651sunrisefb

Sunrise in the woods–magical!

 

8874easternphoebefb

An Eastern Phoebe

 

8811goldfinchfb 8904goldfinchfb

8925goldfinchesfb

American Goldfinches everywhere!

 

8839hermitthrushfb

A Hermit Thrush

 

8859easterntowheefb

My first Eastern Towhee!

 

This past weekend, I traveled to Northern Michigan for 2 days.  Although I saw surprisingly few birds (except for a memorable Bald Eagle flying directly over my car), the scenery was absolutely stunning!

 

8929traversecityfb

8949lakeleelanaufb

 

Returning home again, I was happy to find my second new-to-me bird this week:  Pine Siskins:

 

9130pinesiskinsfb

Pine Siskins

 

Along with the Pine Siskins, Cedar Waxwings, Robins, and House Finches were enjoying all the fall berries:

 

9191cedarwaxwingfb

A Cedar Waxwing

 

9171robinandberryfb

A Robin

 

9115finchfb

A House Finch

 

And finally, one of the best things about winter coming–I can see the hawks in my woods much more easily.  This beautiful Red-tail Hawk landed right outside my window and I was able to get a shot because the leaves have fallen.

 

9253redtailfb

A Red-tail Hawk

 

Enjoy your Halloween, and I hope to have lots more to share soon!

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey, Chickadees and Titmice, Ducks, Finches, Flycatchers, Thrushes, Towhees, Waxwings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lots to share

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I love the chickadees, we have so many of them at our feeders now 🙂

Leave a Reply

