So this just happened…

My husband and I just walked in the door this morning when I noticed something fly across the yard.  I looked out to find that a Cooper’s Hawk had caught his morning meal–a Mourning Dove.

 

3152coopershawkfb

 

It was quite an adrenaline rush as my camera was struggling to find focus in the poor morning light.  I was so happy I got any picture!

Many people are bothered by images of raptors with their prey.  But the behavior of these beautiful birds is fascinating to me.  And I like to imagine that the Mourning Dove was old and sickly and ready to go.  All birds have to eat.

Have a great day!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Birds of Prey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

