Winter birding isn’t so bad

When winter begins, it always feels as if my birding days will be over for a long time.  But the truth is that winter can be a great time for bird watching.  My yard has been so busy with activity the past few days.  It has been bitterly cold and snowy and the birds are really loving the food I put out.  I provide nyjer thistle, black oil sunflower seeds, suet, dried mealworms, a ground seed mix including cracked corn and millet,  and a heated birdbath.  I also threw a Christmas tree out by my feeder and sprinkle seeds over it–that gets a ton of interest from the birds.  I did that hoping it would give them a bit of protection from the hawk that keeps stalking my yard.  Here are some pictures from the past few days.

 

0834housefinchfb

A male House Finch.

 

 

0956mourningdovefb

A Mourning Dove in the snow.

 

1250tuftedtitmousefb

A Tufted Titmouse at the heated birdbath.

 

1219tuftedtitmousefb

A Tufted Titmouse at the mealworm feeder.

 

1268carolinawrenfb

A Carolina Wren at the mealworm feeder.

 

1201tuftedtitmousefb

A Tufted Titmouse waiting for a turn at the feeders.

 

0916deerfb

A regular visitor in the yard lately–especially at night to clean out my sunflower seeds!

 

I’ll take a warm summer day over a cold winter day anytime, but even I have to admit that birding in the winter isn’t all that bad!

This entry was posted in Chickadees and Titmice, Deer, Finches, Pigeons and Doves, Wrens. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter birding isn’t so bad

  1. Kelli Bullock says:

    Good Morning, Carol. What a beautiful way to start out my day. Thank you for your great posts today!

  2. Crooked Tracks says:

    We also have a lot of birds this year, I think the cold weather drives them to our bird feeders.

  3. The Birding Bunch says:

    Very nice photos. I always miss my Mourning Doves in the winter. Do you feed live mealworms? I’ve only done dried (except during a drought to give the parent Robins a hand) and get plenty of takers. Even Killdeer, of all things.

    Just recently we’ve had two different Cooper’s in our yard, so our birds disappear for a time. Our Meadowlarks were just starting to come back. Hope this doesn’t keep them away for long.

Leave a Reply

