Goodbye beach

2682seaislesunrisefb

My yearly beach vacation is over.  Although it’s good to be home, I don’t know how I’ll make it a whole year without seeing the ocean.  It’s such a peaceful place to be.

I had hoped to see more birds this year than I did.  But, in truth, lying on the deck all day staring at the ocean and reading my book isn’t the best strategy for bird watching 🙂

I didn’t have to look hard for the Laughing Gulls–they were everywhere!

 

2450laughinggullfb

 

The same with the Herring Gulls.

 

2424herringgullfb

 

I’ve never seen a Northern Mockingbird in Michigan and I love seeing them in the summer when I travel.

 

2508mockingbirdfb

 

I found a beautiful Mimosa tree and photographed a lot of bees around the flowers.  Those pictures were disappointing, but I love this one of the flower alone.

 

2509mimosafb

 

I also love the grasses that grow on the dunes.  The colors are beautiful, especially in the golden light of sunrise and sunset.

 

2457dunegrassfb

 

These pictures will have to hold me for another year.  Now, it’s back to reality for me.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Flowers, Gulls, Mimids. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Goodbye beach

  1. Crooked Tracks says:

    I like the laughing gull. I have never seen one, very interesting head color.

Leave a comment